Weekend Wrap-up and Climb Iowa

Hey y’all.

Hope you all had a great weekend.  I had a pretty nice one…all starting off with some chill.  😉

Saturday I woke Baby Belle and I up bright and early to walk down to the farmers market.  I forgot to turn on my GPS to get the exact mileage but I would say it is about 2-2.5 miles.  It was a nice refreshing walk.  We were meeting my dad and stepmom and then some family friends who were camping out at Saylorville Lake for the weekend.

I didn’t take any pics at the farmers market but it was a fun time.  They had some musicians who specialized in kids music and Baby Belle had a blast.  Worst mother ever…I didn’t take any pictures 😦

My dad and stepmom took Baby Belle for me so my sister and I could attend a belay class at Climb Iowa.  I purchased a deal on Deal Chicken so that we basically paid half price for the intro class and all day pass, including gear rental.  We got on our jazzy shoes and waited in their waiting area for the class to start.

photo(8)photoThen we got in our class.  There were only two other guys in the class…recent 8th grade graduates who were talking about a recent break up with one of their girlfriends….tragic.  🙂  To be young again!

We learned how to knot, do the calls, etc.  It took about an hour for us to test out.

photo(1)photo(2)Once we passed we were on our own to climb.  It was pretty high up there…the scariest part was letting yourself come down after you got up there.

photo(3)Yeah..I took a picture basically up my nose so you could see what I meant….YIKES!

They had a rating system on the wall of easy to hard.  They had a whole bunch of different types of grips (not sure if that is the technical term or not!) and it was quite a workout!

photo(7)I made it to the top on 3 different paths.  I felt pretty bad ass but there is no way I could have done another.  My arms were spent.

photo(4)photo(5)Champion!!!

We hit up Subway for lunch then my sister drove me out to the campground….again..horrible mama…I took no pictures.  It started raining shortly after I got there so we didn’t get to do too much.  I just snacked the whole time 😦  Whoops!

Sunday morning I woke up and ate a duck egg my friend Maria sent me home with that she got at the Farmers Market.  It was so rich and delish.

photo(6)Then I cleaned the house most of the day Sunday and made a batch of muffins, snack balls, and rice krispy treats!  🙂

How was your weekend?

Shaunna

P.S.

I don’t know how much longer I can go with my Ke$ha shampoo.  My hair looks and feels disgusting!

photo(9)

4 thoughts on “Weekend Wrap-up and Climb Iowa

  1. I’m so glad I get to read about you trying that kind of shampoo. I read some articles about, I think they called it unpoo, or using baking soda and vinegar to wash your hair. I’m all for less chemicals but this period that your in right now, where it’s just kinda eww, I’m not sure I’m up for that. Lol. I hope you stick with it so I can read more 😀

  2. Isn’t Climb Iowa awesome! Love that place!!! You think you’ll be trying it again sometime?

Leave a Reply

