Toddler Tuesday-Moonsand and Protein Bars

Hi!

We had a rainy, wet, and fun Memorial Day weekend.  We got a lot of laundry done and some yard projects done but nothing worth posting pictures about.  I did try out this weird breakfast combo though.

photo(8)Yeah!  My normal breakfast scramble which has potato or frozen hash brown, avocado, fried egg and then I topped it off with some greens.  Breakfast salad!  Yum.  It seemed weird but I really liked it!

So lets talk moon sand.

My sister got a job during the summer and doesn’t get home until about 6:15.  I had been spoiled with having my sister home to help me wrangle up Baby Belle while I cook dinner.  For some reason dinner time is when Baby Belle wants to be best friends with her mama :).

I was cooking….Baby Belle was wild and so I took 5 minutes to have her help me whip up this easy peasy recipe for Moon Sand.  I pinned this on Pinterest and there was no source but there are lots of recipes out there.

I had a sample size bottle of baby oil which equaled 1/2 cup and added 4 cups of flour to the bowl.

photo(10)photoWe mixed with a fork and then went wild mixing with our hands.

photo(1)photo(9)And then I put it in a pan with some of her little dishes and she played until dinner!  It was really awesome!

photo(2)photo(3)photo(4)I ended up putting it in a container with a lid so we can break it out again if needed.  I am not sure how long it will last but it was easy enough to make.  I have seen some posts use food coloring to make it fun colors too so that is something we will do when we have more time.

Not only did Baby Belle love the moon sand but she also loved some protein bars I whipped up that I had saved to my Stuff to do or try ASAP list.

photo(7)I had one vote for these and I am so glad that I made them.

photo(5)Jess at Blonde Ponytail made up this recipe and I followed it exactly except I only made a half a batch (sadly!) and I added some Hemp Hearts to the top because they were something new I bought and I wanted to try them!  They added a great crunch!  I ate the whole batch over the weekend and loved them.  They tasted like the inside of a Reece’s Peanut Butter cup.  YUM!  I am making a full batch tonight to last me through the rest of the week!  🙂

So now vote for this Fridays pick!  🙂

Super Power Chia Bread

Sweet and Salty Gluten Free Granola that Tina from CNC posted on Health

Whole Wheat Oatmeal Berry Crumb Bars that was a Friday Favorite on Iowa Girl Eats.

Have a great day y’all.

Shaunna

3 thoughts on “Toddler Tuesday-Moonsand and Protein Bars

  1. You can also stick her on your back in your Ergo when necessary. 😉 Or invest in a 6 year old…that’s how I get what little I can manage done with “Mr. Spitty”. 😀

  2. Oh, whole wheat oatmeal berry crumb bars. Sounds yummy!

  3. Pingback: Stuff to do or try ASAP-2 but technically 3 | mamas13minutemile

Leave a Reply

