Toddler Tuesday-Sneaking Veggies

Hey y’all.
I have been keeping the family and I super busy lately and haven’t had time to do anything particularly special with Baby Belle as far as activities are concerned.  We did take her to the Valley Junction Farmers Market last Thursday for Family Fun Night.  She spotted these two princess and darted for them immediately.

photo(5)Notice the leash 🙂  The princesses were so sweet to her and talked to her for a few minutes and then obliged when I asked if they would pose with her.  She then got all weird about it 😦

photo(6)She looks terrified.  The princesses were from Storybook Adventures and I hope to book a party with them soon.  I know she would have a blast with them.

So for Toddler Tuesday I am going to talk about sneaking veggies in Baby Belle’s diet.  She is pretty good about eating fruit….she loves fruit but with veggies she is a little more picky.  She will eat carrot sticks and cucumber once in a while but she would prefer something on the sweeter side 🙂

Now one veggie she does love is tomatoes.  Remember last year with our tomato jungle?  She also loves noodles.

photo(7)See where I am going with this…spaghetti!!!!

Now when I attempted to do Whole 30 I learned to read labels a bit better and discovered that for some reason spaghetti sauce had pretty high sugar content.  I even made the mistake of buying a “no added sugar” can to see there still was sugar in there.  Why?  I don’t get that?

I made a HUGE vat of spaghetti sauce this past Saturday and snuck in some veggies to add a kick of nutrients.  No one will ever know…until they read the post (right Kev?).

Now keep in mind when I give you this recipe I made this in bulk.  You obviously could do a single serving if you wanted to.  We just needed something quick and easy for nights we get busy.

 

Bulk Sugar Free Spaghetti Sauce With Sneaky Veggies!

Made 8 servings that will feed 4 and give you leftovers

5 pounds italian sausage

7-28 oz cans of crushed tomatoes

3-14 oz cans of diced tomatoes

3 chopped onions

2 tablespoons diced garlic (I use the kind in the jar and I love love garlic)

1 jar of roasted red pepper (or roast some yourself, how to here)

whatever amount of sneaky veggies you want-I had 4 cups of assorted shredded squash that I had froze previously

7 tablespoons Wild Tree spaghetti blend

 

1.  Brown the sausage until completely cooked.  I didn’t take any pictures of this so hopefully you know how to brown sausage.  Then drain it and add it back into the pan, putting heat on low.

2.  Add chopped onions and garlic and cook until soft.

3.  Add all cans of crushed and diced tomatoes.

4.  Add spaghetti blend and stir thoroughly.

photo(1)

5.  While sauce is simmering I then took my frozen squash which I prepped earlier.   You see…I had some squash dying in my fridge and hated to waste it.  I simply shredded it, squeezed out as much liquid as I could and stored it in the freezer.

photo(4)photo(2)Easy.  I meant to post about this separately but no time better than now.  You could use the frozen squash for recipes like this, making baby food or for breads…lots of options.

So I cooked that up and dumped in a random jar of roasted red peppers in a saucepan and let it cook until it was thawed out completely.

photo(3)6.  Blend it all up and mix it in the simmering sauce.

photoIt didn’t amount to much and would have been better used for a single serving (1/2 pound sausage, and a can each of crushed and diced) but it made do and will add an extra bit of veggies for the fam and will make no difference in flavor!

Easy peasy!

Do you sneak veggies in your meals?

Shaunna

🙂  I did want to mention that my prayers and thoughts are going out to those in Oklahoma as well as to The Shepard family who are still searching for Kathlynn.  I am not dealing with my emotions well at all today so I can’t bear to type something up about either topics.

922901_10152832375745543_918832533_n

 

2 thoughts on “Toddler Tuesday-Sneaking Veggies

  1. Love this recipe! Hopefully I will have fresh tomatoes soon 🙂

  2. I will have to try this recipe. We don’t eat pasta, but we do eat spaghetti squash so this would be perfect as I have stopped purchasing pre-made spaghetti sauce! We actually cooked up some of our own a while back using just tomatoes and a few other random ingredients that I randomly threw together. We also made tomato soup in a similar fashion. Neither was too bad actually, just a bit bland as I had no idea what I was doing. :p I’m sure we’ll have boat loads of tomatoes again this year (we too had a tomato jungle, the dogs were thrilled) and so I’m kind of excited to try my hand at some more tomato sauce. Really I just need to learn how to do some canning.

    But I also need to start sneaking veggies in here too. For the longest time Imy LOVED to just munch on broccoli, carrots, etc. but lately has begun preferring fruit above all else. Kind of a bummer because half the time most of her meals ends up on the floor. 😦 I’m excited for that phase to be over….but anyway need to sneak some veggies. A good way so far is for me to make some smoothies, throwing spinach and zucchini in with some fruits works really well. 🙂 Thankfully she loves tomatoes too, she goes nuts over them. She also strangely loves celery, silly baby.

Leave a Reply

