Why Did The Chicken Cross The Road?

Happy Monday friends!

Hope you all had a great weekend!  I had a busy weekend but it was full of family fun!  I sadly didn’t take a ton of pictures so I don’t have a whole lot I can show you.  I did take a picture of this little cutie.

photo(1)Here she is all messy from a cupcake at my cousin’s baby shower.  She was so cute with her little belly!

308658_547739965277688_1752675137_nAnd luckily I stashed this little snack from the shower in my car…total breakfast of champions 🙂

photoSo now to the title of the post…

I talked about how I needed to get back into the groove of eating clean.  I have a long way to go but I got started this weekend.  Now before you get all cray on me…I am totally aware that we should be eating food from local sources and that aren’t pumped full of chemicals to juice them up etc!  We are working on it….but at a slow pace.  We will get there eventually.

I made homemade chicken nuggets.  Something easy that my sister or Kevin can pop in the oven when I am not home at night or get home late.

I didn’t take a lot of pictures of this either but it is easy.  I bought a bunch of  bone-in, skin-on chicken breasts at Hy-Vee for $.99 a pound.  I bought about $15 worth.  I took them home, peeled off the skin and then cut part of the breast out that I could.  I then cut them into bite size pieces.  I make bread at home with my bread maker and grind up the left overs that don’t get eaten right away.  I store these in the freezer to use for this purpose or to make meatballs etc with.

I dipped the cut up pieces of chicken into a an egg/water mix and then coated them with the bread crumbs.  I baked them at 350 for about 15 minutes until they were just cooked through.  They looked like this when they came out.

photo(4)I realize they need more cooking time to really crisp up and get yummy but I didn’t want them to be dry when you put them back into the oven to cook at meal time.  I let them cool off and then put in a gallon freezer baggie to store in the freezer.

photo(2)Ta-da!! as Baby Belle would say.  I got 2 huge gallon baggies full.  I then took the chicken breasts that I mangled up from cutting the meat out of and threw them in the crock pot.  I let it cook on high for about 3-4 hours and ended up with 2 quart sized baggies of shredded chicken breast to use for future recipes.

photo(3)Lots of chicken for only $15 and we are set for nights that are crazy for us!

Do you freezer cook?

What do you do with shredded chicken?

‘Til tomorrow!

Shaunna

 

Leave a Reply

