Giving It Another Go-Rejoining Weight Watchers

Hi y’all.

Boy am I glad that tomorrow is Friday!  It has been a pretty crummy week and I am so ready for the weekend!

So I promised to talk about my Weight Watchers decision.  Here I go:

My stepmom and family friend joined weight watchers the summer of last year.  They had great results and encouraged me to join to help shed the remainder of my baby weight.

I am fairly certain that I started in September of 2011 but the weight record data that I found was starting in December.  At that time I weighed 153.4 pounds.  My last weight record was from May 9, 2012 and I was down to 144.8.  I know I lost at 22.4 pounds total through Weight Watchers during that time.

I love the program and it made losing weight easier for me.  Here is how the system works:

Weight Watchers works with a point system.  Food is assigned a point value by calculating its fat, carbs, fiber and protein.  For instance this chocolate oatmeal was 4 points.

I get 26 points per day and they determine the amount of points you are allowed by your weight and how much you move around during the day.  All Weight Watchers members also get 49 additional points to use how they choose through out the week.  So for instance I can have a treat every single day of the week that is only 8 or so points or I can save them all for when I go out to eat or something and have a drink or two.

You can also earn activity points through working out that you can use toward food as well or I just opt to earn them and know that my work is going toward losing weight.

I lost weight safely through Weight Watchers.  I didn’t take any pills, I didn’t deprive myself, and at the meetings I had peers supporting me and THAT was key.  I quit in May with the thought that I had the knowledge to do it on my own (I did) but as supportive as Kevin and my sis are they just don’t get the struggle that can come with eating healthy!

There is a bit more to the program but I won’t babble on.  Feel free to leave any questions in the comment section and I will be sure to answer them.

So I am back and I will remain until I hit my goal of 130 pounds.  I know I am going to have to work my butt off but I am ready to make that commitment.  So instead of tracking calories I will be reporting my daily and weekly points.

Yesterday I jogged/walked 2+ miles with MJ and I ate 37 points because Kevin and I ended up going out for dinner since his flight came back at 6:30 instead of 9:30 and jumbled my dinner plans all up.

Do any of you have any questions about Weight Watchers?  Have any of you tried Weight Watchers or know someone who has?
Have a great day!

Shaunna

4 thoughts on “Giving It Another Go-Rejoining Weight Watchers

  1. I’m interested to hear how Weight Watchers works out for you- and to see what a typical day of meals looks like! Hmm… maybe I should look into joining? I’m not really tracking calories at this point- just watching what I eat. My goal is to get down to 135 by the end of October… Great blog! I added you to my reader 🙂

    • I loved Weight Watchers in the past and after todays meeting I am totally pumped again. I truly eat normally and eat the same meal I make for my family. I can blog about that next week to give you an example. Thanks for checking out the blog!

  2. Pingback: Decisions and Hump Day Happenings « mamas13minutemile

  3. Pingback: Fear of Commitment | mamas13minutemile

Leave a Reply

